K-9 Division

The Woodbury County Sheriff's Office Canine Division was established in 1975 with the help of Sioux City Police Sergeant Boyde Spalding. The first two canines, both German Shepards, were Gus and Max. In the past 46 years, 42 loyal canines have faithfully served Woodbury County.

Early members formed a canine association called the Hawkeye Canine Association.  Members included officers with the Sioux City Police Department and the Woodbury County Sheriff's Office and other officers and their canine partners from departments in northwest Iowa.  In 1983, the Hawkeye Canine Association was dissolved and members formed Region 21 of the United States Police Canine Association.  The USPCA is a national organization to which current handlers still belong.  It is through the USPCA that handlers and their canine partners obtain regional and national certifications, as well as train and compete with other canine teams from around the country.  Past and present Woodbury County canines have been recognized many times.

Woodbury County canines are trained to search for both evidence and people.  They are also trained to detect narcotics.  They can also be used for crowd control and make criminal apprehensions.

Woodbury County has had several breeds of K9's which included German Shepards, Belgium Malinois, Blood Hounds, and Labrador Retrievers.  Woodbury County currently has 2 different breeds of dogs, which are German Shepards and Belgium Malinois.  The Sheriff's canine division is currently comprised of 7 dogs.

Proud K9 History

Woodbury County would like to recognize the former and present members of the K9 Unit:

  • Deputy Michael Simoni and Kia (2020-present, narcotics)
  • Deputy Michael Lenz and Kilo (2020-present, narcotics)
  • Deputy Eric Fay and Garzo (2020-present)
  • Deputy Nathan Sands and Rico (2013-present)
  • Deputy Derek Brand and Ruckus (2013-present)
  • Deputy Willie Garrett and Dakota (2013-2017)
  • Deputy Troy Tadlock and Diexel (2013-2015), Diesel (2015-present)
  • Deputy Todd Trobaugh and Rudy (2003-2013)
  • Major Greg Stallman and Maximus (2002-2008), Tessa (2008-2011)
  • Transport Officer Mark Larkin and Nitro (2002-2010), Dina (2010-2013)
  • Deputy Tom Ladwig and Casey (2001-2010)
  • Lt. Tony Wingert and Spenser (1999-2005), Chewy (2008-2013)
  • Deputy Darin Fay and Dillon (1998-2006), Niko (2006-2012), Dozer (2013-present)
  • Sgt. Doug Boetger and Rex (1990-1998)
  • Sgt. Jim Bauerly and Ace (1984-1990), Andy (1990-2000), Sipo (2000-2007), Bosco (2007-2019)
  • Deputy Dave Fox and Daisy (1983-1984), Buck (1984-1986)
  • Deputy Bob Kingsley and Mike (1982-1986)
  • Lt. Charlie Hertz and Trooper (1978-1979), Bullet (1982-1989), Rude E. Dog (1990-2000)
  • Lt. Brad Carlson and Tobey (1979-1983)
  • Sgt. Mike Tadlock and Sarg (1977-1982), Chip (1982-1987), Cody (1987-1994)
  • Deputy Jerry Thomas and Chub (1976-1980)
  • Deputy Kenny Graham and Deacon (1976-1980)
  • Former Sheriff Dave Amick and Marshall (1976-1983)
  • Deputy Jim Fox and Buck (1976-1984), Daisy (1980-1983)
  • Deputy Greg Shinkunas and Max (1975-1983)
  • Former Sheriff Glenn Parrett and Gus (1975-1980), Cris (1980-1982)

Woodbury County doorknob with 'W' design Stay Connected with Our County

Sign up to receive notifications when board meeting agendas are posted, job openings are announced, and more.


This content was printed from the County website at woodburycountyiowa.gov on July 23, 2024.