About Woodbury County, Iowa

Woodbury County was formed in 1851 and was originally named Wahkaw County. In 1853, the Iowa Legislature changed its name to honor Levi Woodbury, a Supreme Court justice.

Fast Facts


Woodbury County is home to 15 incorporated communitiesAnthon, Bronson, Correctionville, Cushing, Danbury, Hornick, Lawton, Moville, Oto, Pierson, Salix, Sergeant BluffSioux CitySloan, and Smithland.


The County is administered by a five-member Board of Supervisors who are elected to four-year terms. Other elected officials include the AttorneyAuditor & RecorderSheriff, and Treasurer.


Many of Woodbury County's government offices can be found in the Woodbury County Courthouse, located at 620 Douglas St. in Sioux City, Iowa. The courthouse celebrated its 100th anniversary in May 2018. 

100th Anniversary Virtual Tours & Facts

Woodbury County doorknob with 'W' design Stay Connected with Our County

Sign up to receive notifications when board meeting agendas are posted, job openings are announced, and more.


This content was printed from the County website at woodburycountyiowa.gov on July 22, 2024.