## JANUARY 2, 2025, FIRST MEETING OF THE WOODBURY COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

The Board of Supervisors met on Thursday, January 2, 2025, at 2:00 p.m. Board members present were Ung, Dietrich, Nelson, Carper, and Bittinger II. Staff members present were Heather Satterwhite-Van Sickle, Executive Secretary/Public Bidder, Melissa Thomas, Human Resources Director, and Michelle Skaff, Auditor/Clerk to the Board.

The regular meeting was called to order with the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag and a Moment of Silence.

- 1. Motion by Ung second by Bittinger to approve the adoption of current Board of Supervisors Bylaws. Carried 5-0. Copy filed.
- 2. Motion by Nelson second by Bittinger to appoint Ung as Temporary Chair to preside over Election of Chairperson. Carried 5-0.
- 3. Nelson nominates Bittinger as Chairperson.

Motion by Nelson second by Dietrich to appoint Bittinger as Chairperson for the 2025 session. Carried 4-1 on roll call vote, Ung opposed.

- 4. Motion by Bittinger second by Ung to appoint Nelson as Vice-Chairperson. Carried 5-0 on roll call vote.
- 5. Motion by Bittinger second by Nelson to approve the agenda for January 2, 2025. Carried 5-0. Copy filed.

Motion by Bittinger second by Nelson to approve the following items by consent:

- 6. Approve annual adoption of current rules for public participation in board meetings.
- 7a. To approve the appointment of County Engineer, Laura Sievers.
- 7b. To approve the appointment of County Medical Examiner, Dr. Julie Breiner.
- 7c. To approve the appointment of Jered Jepsen as Weed Commissioner.
- 7d. To approve the Sioux City Journal, The Sergeant Bluff Advocate, and The Moville Record as the County's official newspapers. Copy filed.
- 8a. To approve the appointment of Neil Stockfleth, 613 Coniston Circle, Sergeant Bluff. Copy filed.
- 8b. To approve the appointment of Chad Janzen, 201 Prot Neal Road, Sergeant Bluff, and Sandra Granger, 4601 Saddle Lane, Sioux City, to the Siouxland District Health Board. Copy filed.
- 8c. To approve the appointment of Leo Jochum, 1691 250<sup>th</sup>, Salix, Blake Flewelling, 7462 Correctionville Road, Sioux City, Dennis Reyman, 1923 Safford Ave, Correctionville, Julie Hamann, 4424 230<sup>th</sup> Ave, Correctionville, Tony Ahsley, 3356 170<sup>th</sup>, Correctionville, Bradley Hopp, 2475 Hwy 20, Lawton, and Eric Nelson, 1514 Jasper Ave Moville, to the Commission to Assess Damages Category A Owner/operators of Agricultural Property; Bob Batcheller, PO Box 3311, Sioux City, Ruth Groth, 305 North Cauley Ave, Anthon, Robert Stewart, 4101 Country Club, Sioux City, Melissa Tjeerdsma, 1090 Pachsama Ct., Sioux City, and Stephan Warren, 6720 Wildbloom Court, Sioux City, to the Commission to Assess Damages Category B Owners of City Property; Colleen Baker, 3422 Jackson Street, Sioux City, Tori Jackson, 4601 S. Ridge Road, Sioux City, Rachel Raak Law, 1407 Megan's Way, Correctionville, Jason Geary, 3316 5<sup>th</sup> Ave., Sioux City, and Eric Hoak, 6808 Cypress Point, Sioux City, to the Commission to Assess Damages Category C Licensed Real Estate Salesman or Real Estate Broker; Linda Mathison, 5008 Ravin Park Lane, Sioux City, Doug Lehman, PO Box 1381, Sioux City, Barbara Sloniker, 1336 Buchanan Ave., Sioux City, and Donal Eggerling, 3 Rose Lane, Sioux City, to the Commission to Assess Damages Category D Persons Having Knowledge of Property Values in the County by Reason of their Occupation. Copy filed.

- 9. Reports on committee meetings were heard.
- 10. There were no citizen concerns.
- 12. Board Concerns were heard.

The Board adjourned the regular meeting until January 7, 2025.

Motion by Bittinger second by Nelson to go into closed session per Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(c). Carried 5-0 on roll-call vote.

Motion by Nelson second by Carper to go out of closed session per Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(c). Carried 5-0 on roll-call vote.

Meeting sign in sheet. Copy filed.